Virtual Author Discussion with Celebrated YA Author Sharon Cameron (BLUEBIRD)

Please join Chaucer's Books for a  Virtual Author Discussion with celebrated YA author Sharon Cameron on Tuesday, October 12 at 7 p.m. (Pacific).

 

 

 

To attend this virtual event, please click here:  https://us06web.zoom.us/j/84951871967

To view the YouTube broadcast, click here: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRVxV4ZOqkmnBj8TvT25NFQ

 

 

BLUEBIRD


Author of Reese's Book Club YA Pick The Light in Hidden Places, Sharon Cameron, delivers an emotionally gripping and utterly immersive thriller, perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys's Salt to the Sea.

In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for the streets of New York City, stepping from the fiery aftermath of one war into another, far colder one, where power is more important than principles, and lies are more plentiful than the truth. Eva holds the key to a deadly secret: Project Bluebird -- a horrific experiment of the concentration camps, capable of tipping the balance of world power. Both the Americans and the Soviets want Bluebird, and it is something that neither should ever be allowed to possess.

But Eva hasn't come to America for secrets or power. She hasn't even come for a new life. She has come to America for one thing: justice. And the Nazi that has escaped its net.

Critically acclaimed author of The Light in Hidden Places Sharon Cameron weaves a taut and affecting thriller ripe with intrigue and romance in this alternately chilling and poignant portrait of the personal betrayals, terrifying injustices, and deadly secrets that seethe beneath the surface in the aftermath of World War II.

 

 

Photo by Rusty Russell

 

Sharon Cameron’s debut novel The Dark Unwinding was awarded the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators' Sue Alexander Award for Most Promising New Work and the SCBWI Crystal Kite Award, and was named a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection. Sharon is also the author of its sequel, A Spark UnseenRook, which was selected as an Indiebound Indie Next List Top Ten selection, a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection, and a Parents' Choice gold medalist; and The Forgetting, a #1 New York Times bestseller and an Indie Next Pick of the List selection, and its companion novel, The KnowingThe Light in Hidden Places received two starred reviews, was a Reese's YA Book Club pick, and received fantastic media coverage for Sharon's strong research and affecting prose. It has sold in 14 languages. Sharon lives with her family in Nashville, Tennessee and can be found at sharoncameronbooks.com.

 

 

 

Event date: 
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
Event address: 
3321 State Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Bluebird Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338355963
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Please call to confirm stock for hot titles
Published: Scholastic Press - October 5th, 2021

The Light in Hidden Places Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338355949
Availability: Available from our Distributors - Usually arrives in-store in 2-7 days
Published: Scholastic Inc. - September 7th, 2021