And Don't Look Back (Hardcover)

And Don't Look Back By Rebecca Barrow Cover Image
$19.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Feb 23 9:20pm
(KIDS Y.A. & ND & HB)

Description


After her mother’s death, a teen pieces together the truth of her family’s past and what her mom was hiding from in this “hauntingly atmospheric and utterly engrossing” (Jas Hammonds, award-winning author of We Deserve Monuments) thriller that’s perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Tiffany D. Jackson.

Harlow Ford has spent her entire life running, caught in her mother’s wake as they flit from town to town, hiding from a presence that Harlow isn’t even sure is real. In each new place, Harlow takes on a new name and personality, and each time they run, she leaves another piece of herself behind.

When Harlow and her mom set off on yet another 3 a.m. escape, they are involved in a car accident that leaves Harlow’s mother fatally wounded. Before she dies, she tells Harlow two things: where to find the key to a safety deposit box and to never stop running. In the box, Harlow finds thirty grand in cash, life insurance documents, and several fake IDs for both herself and her mom—an on-the-run essentials kit. But Harlow also finds a photograph of her mom as a teenager with two other girls, the deed to a house in a town she’s never heard of, and a handful of newspaper clippings discussing the disappearance of a woman named Eve Kennedy, Harlow’s grandmother…relics of a part of Harlow’s life she never knew existed.

With these tantalizing clues about her mother’s secrets and the power to choose her own future for the first time, Harlow realizes she has two choices: keep fleeing her mom’s ghosts or face down the nebulous threat that’s been hanging over her for her entire life.

About the Author


Rebecca Barrow is the critically acclaimed author of Interview with the VixenThis Is What It Feels LikeYou Don’t Know Me But I Know YouBad Things Happen Here, and And Don’t Look Back. She is a lover of sunshine, Old Hollywood icons, and all things high femme. She lives and writes in England. Visit her at Rebecca-Barrow.com.

Praise For…


"A gripping thriller that doesn’t reveal its secrets until the very end."
— Kirkus

A raw stunner that grips you by the heart and the throat. And you won’t see that final twist coming. 
— Dana Mele, author of People Like Us and Summer’s Edge 

A book that drags you out of bed in the middle of the night and sets you running toward the end. A tense, twisty mystery about growing up in the shadow of our parents’ secrets—and our own. Barrow’s writing is at turns heartbreaking and utterly thrilling, like a secret whispered in your ear. 
— Lily Anderson, author of Scout’s Honor 

Hauntingly atmospheric and utterly engrossing, And Don’t Look Back delicately untangles the loyalty of sisterhood, buried grief, and family secrets as deep as the Pacific Northwest woods. 
— Jas Hammonds, award-winning author of We Deserve Monuments 


Product Details
ISBN: 9781665932271
ISBN-10: 1665932279
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: October 3rd, 2023
Pages: 336
Language: English